Discovering God…


 

“To discover God is the greatest discovery that anyone ever makes in his lifetime, and in trying to understand the great responsibility that goes with such a discovery, I got down on my knees and asked God to help me bear an acceptable witness of him to all of those with whom I should come in contact. When it was revealed to Paul as he journeyed on the way to Damascus that Jesus was the Christ, a great responsibility was placed upon him. When the same thing was made known to Joseph Smith, a tremendous responsibility was placed upon him. He said, ‘… I had seen a vision; I knew it, and I knew that God knew it, and I could not deny it, neither dared I do it.’ (P. of G. P. Joseph Smith 2:25.) Now that the same thing has been made known to us, a great responsibility has been placed upon us, and I pray that our heavenly Father will help us to be effective, inspired, untiring bearers of this great truth to all men everywhere in the world.” – Sterling W. Sill, “Conference Report,” October 1954, Afternoon Meeting, p. 29

Leave a Reply

